COVID-19: For the latest information on Coronavirus (COVID-19) in Bowling Green, visit our Coronavirus Response page.

Pickens Amateur Championship

Golf - Banner Image #1

For the past nineteen years, CrossWinds Golf Course, thanks in large part to our presenting sponsor JB Distributors and all our other great sponsors - Coca Cola, Crossroads IGA, Dial 811, Jersey Mikes, WBKO, WUHU, Dallas's Heating and Cooling, Ferguson, J.J.'s Lawn and Maintenance, and Don Jordan Contracting - has hosted one of the largest amateur tournaments in the area. The Pickens Amateur Championship is a 36-hole medal play golf tournament held annually on the last full weekend in June.

Coach Jim Pickens, who the tournament was named in honor of, was a widely recognized and respected figure in this area. He coached baseball at Western Kentucky University for years and then he directed the Intramural Sports Department before retiring. “Coach” was also well-known for his partnership with Todd Hamilton in covering high school football games for G-107 Radio, as well as rangering for us here at Hartland/CrossWinds for 10 years.

The tournament continues to get bigger and better and we are hoping to improve upon it again this year. This individual stroke play tournament will be open to the first 200 players competing for over $16,000 in total prizes. Prizes will be given to the top 6 finishers in all 10 flights. Every player will also receive a Pickens Amateur Titleist hat and a sleeve of ProV1 golf balls upon checking in on Saturday. The entry fee also entitles the participant to lunch each day provided by Jersey Mikes.

Jim Pickens Biography Pickens Storybook

Previous Champions

Hartland Amateur
Year Winner  
1998 Mike Tinnat 141
1999 John Mullendore 140
Pickens Amateur Championship
(Presented by JB Distributors)
Year Winner  
2000 John Kirby 139
2001 Adam Gary  
2002 Rodney Norris 138
2003 Jared Topmiller 134
2004 Jeremy Lindsey 136
2005 Jordan Blann 139
2006 John Kirby 138
2007 Justin Perry -4
2008 Brian Eaton 139
2009 Jordan Blann 139
2010 Josh Matney 136
2011 Andy Roberts 133
2012 Eric King 134
2013 Trey Shirley 137
2014 Trey Shirley 132
2015 Brandom Beckham 138
2016 Jared Brown 137
2017 Jared Brown 125
2018 Chase Landrum 134
2019 Blain Turner 134
Is there anything wrong with this page?

Let us know if anything is wrong with this page. However, please don't include any personal or financial information.