Driving in Bowling Green

If you are going to drive a vehicle in the state of Kentucky you will need to register your vehicle with titles, obtain a drivers license, have a vehicle inspection (if out of state vehicle), and obtain proof of insurance. For a list of complete resources visit the Kentucky.GOV Transportation site.

Registration

Passenger car, truck, and motorcycle registration costs are $15 annually. A copy of your title is required for your registration and if a lender holds your title, contact information of the lender must be provided. Registration is done by the County Clerk's Office located at 429 E. 10th , (270) 842-1535.

Certificate of Title

New residents of Kentucky should apply for Kentucky Title within 15 days of establishing residency.

Title Status

A Kentucky application for title/registration must be completed, including social security number(s) of owner(s) and signed by owner(s). It must also be notarized. If the vehicle is titled in a joint ownership, signatures and social security numbers of both owners is required.

Driver's License

Visit Kentucky Transportation Board for a complete Kentucky State requirements for obtaining a Kentucky Driver License/ID card and general Information.

You must meet the following requirements to get a Kentucky License:

  • Be a resident of Kentucky
  • Be 16 years of age or older (social security card and original or certified copy of birth certificate required for first-time applicants
  • Have your application signed by the proper person if you are 16 or 17 years of age
  • Pass the vision, signs, rules, and road tests
  • Only one written test per day is allowed. A seven-day wait is required between road tests
  • A school verification form is required to take the permit test

If you would like to get in contact with the Warren County Circuit Clerk, you can do so with the following information:

Warren County Circuit Clerk
1001 Center Street, Suite 102
Bowling Green, KY 42101
Phone: (270) 746-7417
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm (Closed Saturday)

Sheriff's Inspection

Vehicles purchased or brought in from out-of-state must be inspected by the Warren County Sheriff's Department. Motor homes also require a Kentucky Fire Marshall's inspection. Sherrif's Department is located 429 E. 10th. (270) 842-1633.

Permits and Driver's Licenses

You must meet the following requirements to get a Kentucky License:

  • Be a resident of Kentucky
  • Be 16 years of age or older (social security card and original or certified copy of birth certificate required for first-time applicants
  • Have your application signed by the proper person if you are 16 or 17 years of age
  • Pass the vision, signs, rules, and road tests
  • Only one written test per day is allowed. A seven-day wait is required between road tests
  • A school verification form is required to take the permit test
  • The Driver's License Office is located at 1001 Center Street. They are open Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm. They can be contacted at (270) 746-7417.

Seat Belts

Kentucky law requires all persons in a motor vehicle to wear seat belts. It also requires any person, not just a parent, transporting a child less than 40 inches to utilize a child restraint seat.

Insurance

Commonwealth of Kentucky written proof of insurance must be provided for the vehicle being registered. Kentucky requires that all drivers carry liability insurance. Proof of this insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Let us know if anything is wrong with this page. However, please don't include any personal or financial information.